Contact Us

HR Open Standards

About Our Work

We simplify HR integrations.


Founded in 1999, the HR Open Standards Consortium is the only independent, non-profit, volunteer-led organization dedicated to the development and promotion of a standard suite of specifications to enable human resource related data exchanges.
Our voluntary consensus standards are free. Current, global HR vocabularies are developed in a transparent, collaborative based environment open to all HR professionals and organizations.

HR Open Standards has 3 slide shows providing an overview of HR Open and our development process. Please feel free to download any of the slide shows for your use.
HR Open Introduction

HR Open Established Standards Overview

HR Open Project Methodolgy


Global adoption of HR Open Standards through broad collaboration.


HR Open provides the place where industry leaders collaborate to enable innovation.


Open Standards: Participation ensures your company’s HR technology needs are addressed. Allows a focus on solution differentiation instead of vendor lock-in.
Networking & Alliances: Provides an environment to collaborate with like-minded colleagues of different skill sets and job functions. Creates opportunities to work with top-level management across the industry to form business alliances.
Engagement & Expertise: Access, insight, and input into best practices and technology direction and the opportunity to participate in all aspects.
Level Playing Field: All organizations, regardless of size, have access to the same resources and can bring perspectives to the table.
Resource Utilization: Saves research and development time, investment, and human capital compared to custom implementation.

How we develop standards

The process

Industry need
Project proposal
Define Use Cases
Develop schema
Consortium vote
HR Open Standards Staff

Meet our team

Kim Bartkus

Executive Director

Kelly Berntson

Communications & Event Manager

Dimitar Daraganov

Technical Consultant
Board of Directors

Meet our Board

These are the industry and thought leaders guiding the standards starship.

Jason Sole

President, Board of Directors

Ingolf Teetz

Treasurer, Board of Directors

Andrew Cunsolo

Secretary, Board of Directors

Amanda Carr

Board Member

Jim Elder

Board Member

Leslie Erwin

Board Member

Dave Garret

Board Member

Bon Idziak

Board Member

Ryan Krostue

Board Member

Jan-Willem van der Boom

Board Member